N.B.: For full score sales and rentals, please go to contact.



Void: North-West-South-East


ver. 1 for piano (2016)

ver. 2 for chamber orchestra (2017): flute, clarinet, 2 trumpets, trombone, timpani, and string section

Composed for Kurt Steger's Scribing the Void



Void is a topographic composition composed for Kurt Steger's Scribing the Void. The composition takes the outline scribed by Steger from a Central Park boulder as the main melodic line. The work is divided in four movements according to the four cardinal points: North, West, South, and East.



Void was arranged for small chamber orchestra in early 2017 and performed by the Hartford Symphony Orchestra at Real Art Ways (RAW) in Hartford, CT during the exhibition of Steger's Scribing the Void. At RAW, the performance took place within the gallery walls and visitors were encouraged to stroll around the exhibition while the orchestra played. In addition to Void, the program included music by Bach, Stravinsky, and Roger Goula.




Notlacayo [My Body]


for any soprano instrument & piano

Idea by Tania Candiani

Nahuatl: Mtro. Victoriano de la Cruz

Score sample here

art by Kat Suryna


Notlacayo [My Body] is a work in which the pronunciation of specific words in nahuatl (the aztec language) is notated and musicalized. It consists of the musicalization of 33 words that refer to parts of the body. All body parts in nahuatl start with the prefix 'no-' [my] and have a distinct tonal pronunciation. Nahuatl reading was provided by Mtro. Victoriano de la Cruz.




Pieces for Órgano


for talking organ, created by Tania Candiani

Score sample here [Isaac Asimov's Three Laws of Robotics (in Spanish)]




Resistor Music


for two resistor boxes à 12V

Assembled with help by David R. Modisette, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UNM


As part of the collaborative project Interweave, a sonorous installation was assembled at 516 Gallery in downtown Albuquerque. This system features a simple toy organ circuit to render electrical current into musical tones, the tone varies as the resistance increases or decreases--i.e., resistor music. The installation included musical scores written specifically for the Resistor Music system. These scores feature elements of both traditional musical syntax and the peculiarity of the new instrument (view sample score here). Composed pieces and improvisations were performed during a demo presentation on October 12, 2013.


Resistor Music - Improvisation 1 | Albuquerque, NM on Vimeo


Resistor Music - Improvisation 2 | Albuquerque, NM on Vimeo



Variation No. 1 on Yves Klein's La symphonie Monoton-Silence in D


for organ


Yves Klein's visual and conceptual work, beyond the ideas of void and the absolute, is concerned with the feeling of vertigo. In his Monotone-Silence Symphony (formally La symphonie Monoton-Silence) a drone is sustained for 20 minutes followed by 20 minutes of silence. The core of the artwork, as expressed by Klein himself, was not the drone itself but the after-silence, which creates a sensation of vertigo. I tried to recreate that feeling in this variation of Klein's work but with the addition of a second drone. My variation first creates a monotonic ambience (given by the first chord) that lasts for about 4 minutes and 33 seconds (naturally, Cage); at this point, an E flat note is received with stress and dissonance. As Klein's (but unlike Cage's 4'33"), this variation is not about nothingness but about the after-feeling, the vertigo. This peice was performed in 2011 in my living room in Mexico City in company of friends and acquaintances. They were not notified in advance what they were to listen that evening and some of them reacted with surprise. My friend S's boyfriend told me that he taught the performance was flat out bullshit. My frieng G found it interesting and her partner R gave me valuable criticism. The performance was accompanied by a text I wrote comparing Yves Klein's symphony to John Cage's 4'33", this text is available (in Spanish) here. Full score below and here.